You are using Internet Explorer - an outdated and unsupported browser, therefore sections of this site may not work as intended. We recommend you to reload the site in a modern browser such as Edge, Firefox or Chrome.

Microsoft's cybersecurity team actively encourages users to stop using Internet Explorer - Edge is now the default browser installed on Windows 10

Olivia’s story.

Finding my way in life.

olivia icon


Understanding my finances

My current situation

I am 20, single, and currently live at university. I have a part time job that pays about £540 per month. Most of this is spent on socialising, phone bills and transport.

I also have a student loan and an overdraft. I struggle to budget and often do not have any money left at the end of each month, meaning I regularly use my overdraft.

I will be finishing university in the next couple of years and hope to get a well-paid job at the end of my course.

down arrow

My goals

  • Short Term – understand my pay slip and budgeting.
  • Medium Term – understand how best to pay off my overdraft.
  • Long Term – start saving into a Lifetime Individual Savings Account (LISA) for a house deposit.
down arrow

What I need

I think that I would benefit from further financial education on topics such as:

  • Understanding the breakdown of my pay slip
    • What is National Insurance?
  • Why saving early will benefit my future.
  • The Renting vs Buying a house dilemma.

I would also like access to a budgeting tool to make sure I don’t miss out on any social events.