You are using Internet Explorer - an outdated and unsupported browser, therefore sections of this site may not work as intended. We recommend you to reload the site in a modern browser such as Edge, Firefox or Chrome.

Microsoft's cybersecurity team actively encourages users to stop using Internet Explorer - Edge is now the default browser installed on Windows 10

Sarah’s story.

Being a mum and more.

joel icon


Setting retirement targets

My current situation

I am 35, married and have one child. I have recently been promoted to Team Leader and now earn £35,000 a year.

Me and my husband have a mortgage but are looking to move to a bigger family home.

Any savings I have tend to be more for the short term and I would like to change that focus.

I would like to learn more about how I can continue to support my family should anything happen to me. I have 3 pensions from previous jobs, but struggle to manage them and ideally would like to put them into my current workplace pension scheme.

down arrow

My goals

  • Short Term – help with debt management and understanding protection needs.
  • Medium Term – understanding whether consolidating my pensions is the best thing to do for me.
  • Long Term – start saving into a workplace Individual Savings Account (ISA) for the medium/long term.
down arrow

What I need

I have been so busy juggling work and being a mum, that I have not spent the time focusing on my finances. It would be great if someone could discuss my pension, protection and saving needs at a time and place that suits my hectic lifestyle.

I would also benefit from some advice regarding where my pension is invested as I know how important this is for my future.